Ric Flair Talks Charlotte Vs. Sasha Banks, Charlotte On How Turning Heel Helped Her, Their Reactions

Posted: 28/08/2016 in Sports, WWE
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11_honolulu_06292016ej_0063-76c75078809b4f4c335eaab078221033

Source: ESPN

Charlotte and WWE Hall of Famer Ric Flair recently spoke with ESPN to promote Sunday’s WWE SummerSlam pay-per-view. The full interview is at this link and below are highlights:

Charlotte on turning heel:

“It really gave me an opportunity to have some personality. For me, being a heel comes more natural because Charlotte’s character was created upon being genetically superior, which is hard to tell people as a baby face and come across endearing.”

Their reactions to the segment where she turned on him:

Charlotte: “He was looking up at me with tears of joy. He was just so proud of me, that I was owning the moment.”

Flair: “I was just thinking how proud I was. Everybody thought I was upset. It’s amazing. It was probably one of the best promos they have had on TV in a long time. It was just tears of joy for her. She has been through a lot. We, as a family, have been through a lot.”

Flair on the SummerSlam match against WWE Women’s Champion Sasha Banks:

“I think the match she had with Sasha on Raw is the greatest women’s match I’ve ever seen. I don’t have a problem saying this, and I have seen some good ones, certainly Trish [Stratus] and Amy [‘Lita’ Dumas] had some great matches. But you would be hard-pressed to say that anything was ever better. That’s what’s unique about [Charlotte]. All she could think about is, ‘Dad, we didn’t have time to really put it together.’ I said, ‘Nobody knows that but you. Wait until SummerSlam, wait until SummerSlam!’ But she has been like that her whole life. She just can’t stand being second. I couldn’t stand it either.”

Leave a comment