Carr: Raiders benching ‘lit a fire inside me’

Posted: 30/06/2023 in NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

New Orleans Saints quarterback Derek Carr said the conclusion of his tenure with the Las Vegas Raiders didn’t sit well with him.

The 32-year-old’s time with the Silver and Black came to an unceremonious end after the team benched him for the final two games of the 2022 season.

“I was very upset, I was mad,” he told the Fresno Bee’s Anthony Galaviz.

“You spend nine years in a place, you have all the records, and you can play at a high level. … I would have said I don’t even want the money, (I just want) to play two more times in front of our fans. I didn’t get that opportunity. So it definitely lit a fire inside me to keep going.”

Carr led the club to a 6-9 record last season, passing for 3,522 yards, 24 touchdowns, 14 interceptions, and a 60.8% completion rate. He holds the Raiders’ passing records with 35,222 yards and 217 TDs. Las Vegas released him in February after failing to find a trade partner.

The four-time Pro Bowler said his mind was completely made up regarding his departure.

“Once they made my wife cry, that was pretty much over,” he said.

New Orleans signed Carr to a four-year, $150-million contract in March.

“I’m happy to be somewhere where we’re in a stable organization that’s been proven for years,” he said. “And I hope that the Raiders find something good there too, where they can keep that stability for the next guys because I know how important it is, and I care about my old teammates.”

Carr’s addition is expected to bring some stability to a Saints team that’s run through a carousel under center since Drew Brees’ retirement in 2021.

Carr will make his Saints debut against the Tennessee Titans on Sept. 10.

Leave a comment