Wade: ‘One day I want to retire in a Miami Heat jersey’

Posted: 30/09/2017 in NBA, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , ,

dwyanewade201290todsgt

He may be wearing Cleveland Cavaliers colors in 2017-18, but before he hangs up his kicks for good, Dwyane Wade will make sure he returns to the Miami Heat.

“Miami, the door’s always unlocked,” Wade told The Associated Press. “One day I want to retire in a Miami Heat jersey. I don’t know how that will happen, but I definitely want to make sure that when I decide to hang it up, that jersey is on. Whether it’s being back there or signing a one-day deal like Paul Pierce, I want to make sure that I go out the way I came in.”

Wade spent the first 13 seasons of his career in South Beach after being drafted fifth overall in 2003. He captured three championships with the organization, and remains the team’s all-time leader in games played, minutes, points, assists, and steals.

A reunion was on the table once the 35-year-old was bought out of his contract with the Chicago Bulls, yet Wade elected for a different reunion with his former Heat teammate in LeBron James.

Wade also feels Miami has a good thing going with the pieces they have in place, and should look to build off its prosperous finish to the 2016-17 regular season.

“Honestly, I didn’t feel they needed me there,” Wade said. “I feel that those guys are in a good place. They deserve to come back this year and see what that 30-11 was about. They don’t need me there over their shoulder or anything like that. That’s kind of how I approached it.”

Leave a comment