Ex-mistress claims Reyes led ‘double life’ for years

Posted: 14/04/2017 in MLB, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , ,

reyes

Christina Sanchez, the former mistress of struggling New York Mets infielder Jose Reyes, claims she and her daughter were the 33-year-old’s “road family” for years while he raised a separate family with his wife during his tenure with the Mets, Miami Marlins, and Toronto Blue Jays.

“We’d go to restaurants, go to games, go shopping, that was the life I was living,” Sanchez told Brian Niemietz of the New York Daily News. “It was a double life, but I wanted him to be a father of our child.”

According to Sanchez, Reyes – who has three children with his wife, Katherine Ramirez, whom he married in 2008 – hasn’t seen Liyah, his estranged 7-year-old daughter, since late 2015, right around the time he was arrested following a domestic incident with his wife. Sanchez, who said she was first romantically involved with Reyes before he got married, is currently suing him for a $30,000 increase in monthly child support payments.

“I knew once I stopped having sex with Jose he’d stop seeing our daughter,” she lamented. “I knew it! I didn’t want to be his mistress the rest of my life. I couldn’t do that.”

Sanchez also suggested Reyes’ on-field woes are the result of a guilty conscience, and that he could get out of his current funk – the four-time All-Star is 3-for-38 (.079) this season and was benched Thursday to get a mental break – by getting back into his daughter’s life.

“When you’re a father you’re going to have something in the back of your mind bugging you,” she said. “You have to be broken inside to shun your own flesh and blood. If he does the right thing … we all make mistakes, I apologize to his wife, I as a woman want to apologize to another woman for what I did. But he hurt both of us.”

Leave a comment