Patriots retire Brady’s jersey at team HOF ceremony

Posted: 14/06/2024 in NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , , ,

The New England Patriots officially retired the No. 12 jersey at Tom Brady’s induction into the team’s Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

“There is only one iconic number that will always represent Tom Brady, and tonight, I promise it will never be worn again,” team owner Robert Kraft told the crowd at Gillette Stadium. “The number 12 is now officially retired.”

In addition to retiring Brady’s jersey, Kraft also mentioned there will be a 12-foot-tall Brady statue that will reside outside Gillette Stadium, according to Phil Perry of NBC Sports Boston.

Brady, who won six of his seven Super Bowls in New England, was honored by the Patriots organization, former teammates, and coaches as he returned to be inducted into the franchise’s HOF.

“It is the honor of my life to take my place among these other Patriot Hall of Famers and to be officially enshrined into the winning legacy of this amazing organization,” Brady said. “You humble me. You make me proud, and I am eternally grateful. I am Tom Brady, and I am a Patriot.”

Drew Bledsoe, Matt Cassel, and Rob Gronkowski were among the former teammates who spoke about the legendary quarterback. But the biggest ovations of the night came for former head coach Bill Belichick and Randy Moss, who was visibly emotional at the display of admiration shown by the crowd.

Belichick called it a “tremendous honor and privilege” to be able to draft and coach Brady. The quarterback later responded that there was no other coach he would rather play for than Belichick.

“It wasn’t me, it wasn’t you, it was us,” Brady said to Belichick during his closing speech.

Even one of Brady’s biggest rivals came out to honor him as Peyton Manning surprised the quarterback with an appearance.

Kraft waived the four-year wait period to induct Brady into the team’s HOF. The now-46-year-old former quarterback won 219 regular-season games and 30 playoff contests during his 20-year stay in New England.

“I wish I had more time,” Brady said, according to Conor Ryan of Boston.com “I truly wish I had more time to give you all.”

Leave a comment