Mayweather: If McGregor lasts 12 rounds, that’s a win for him

Posted: 11/08/2017 in Boxing, MMA, Sports
Tags: , , , , , ,

mcgregor-mayweather-xlarge

If Conor McGregor lasts as long against Floyd Mayweather as the veteran boxer’s last seven opponents, the 40-year-old will be impressed.

Speaking after an open workout in Las Vegas on Thursday, Mayweather said it would be a win for McGregor to go a full 12 rounds on Aug. 26.

“It is a victory for him,” Mayweather said, according to MMA Fighting’s Marc Raimondi. “If he goes the distance, it’s a victory for him. In my eyes, also.”

McGregor has predicted a knockout win inside four rounds for himself, even though Mayweather’s never been knocked out. Mayweather didn’t predict the fight would go the distance either, as he’s convinced he will score the first knockout win of his career since 2011.

Mayweather also clarified Thursday what he meant by his previous comment that the MMA fighter has the upper hand in their boxing match “on paper,” a statement most have dismissed as an attempt to help sell the fight.

“Of course, the so-called boxing experts, they say things like, ‘Oh, when a guy is bigger and stronger, that means he’s better,'” Mayweather said. “What I’m saying is this: On paper, we know he’s taller, we know he has a longer reach, we know youth is on his side. OK? And I guess everybody is saying power is on his side. But I’m saying IQ is on my side, experience is on my side, and I think just fighting knowledge is on my side.

“So I never said that I feel that I’m gonna lose. I never get involved in anything if I think I’m gonna take a loss. That’s like me saying, ‘Yes, I’m gonna invest my money, but I know I’m gonna take a loss, but I’m still gonna invest it.'”

Leave a Reply

