Bears’ Trubisky: ‘I think we’re gonna make the playoffs’

Posted: 04/07/2017 in NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , , ,

10062450-nfl-chicago-bears-rookie-minicamp-850x560

Perhaps the Chicago Bears drafted Mitch Trubisky for his confidence.

The second overall pick in this year’s draft has high expectations for his team, despite the fact Chicago finished 3-13 a season ago.

Speaking to the media on Friday, Trubisky revealed his response to a fan who asked how the Bears would fare in 2017.

“I said, ‘Yeah, I think we’re gonna make the playoffs,'” Trubisky said, according to Patrick Finley of the Chicago Sun-Times.

Trubisky was likely placating a young Bears supporter with his reply, and he was sure to inform the media he’s not in the business of making guarantees.

“Obviously we know we have a lot of work to do. I don’t want anyone to construe it in a way that it’s a guarantee or anything,” he said. “But I believe in myself, I believe in my teammates. I know we still have work to do. That’s what it is – I think.

“As a competitor, you should always go there and think we’re gonna win.”

Trubisky may not even be the quarterback that determines whether the Bears make the postseason, as he conceded that teammate Mike Glennon will be the one under center.

“Mike’s the starter and I’m behind him all the way,” the rookie said on SiriusXM NFL Radio on Friday, according to Marc Sessler of NFL.com.

Leave a Reply

