Brees admits he wouldn’t tell wife about concussion

Posted: 28/05/2017 in NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2010sportsillustratedsportsmanyearcelebration38yncyrplqll

Drew Brees made a quick sidestep when asked to comment on Gisele Bundchen’s reveal that her husband, Tom Brady, suffered a concussion in the 2016 season, during an appearance on “The Dan Patrick Show.”

Brees called it “their business,” but when pressed on whether he’d reveal any head-related health issues to his wife, Brittany, the New Orleans Saints‘ star quarterback said he’d keep her in the dark.

“I wouldn’t want her to worry,” Brees said, according to ESPN’s Mike Triplett.

Brees agreed that self-reporting concussions in the NFL remains a “gray area,” and then talked about when he suffered a concussion in 2004 while with the then-San Diego Chargers, which he said was the only time he’d suffered such an injury in his NFL career.

“I knew that something was not right. I knew that I was concussed,” Brees said. “But I didn’t take myself out of the game. I mean, I stayed in the game and played as long as I could until finally a coach pulled me aside and was like, ‘I’m looking out for you here, and you’re not gonna play anymore.’ …

“And that’s why it’s hard to change that mentality for guys. When you’re in the heat of the moment, heat of the battle and it’s competitive, you do not want to pull yourself out. That’s why the concussion protocols are in place where you’ve got the independent neurological consultants and the trainers and the referees. Everybody’s supposed to be looking.”

The NFL said it has no records that indicate Brady suffered a concussion at any point during his career.

Leave a Reply

