Cormier OK with heel label: Fans prefer a guy that does coke, crashes cars

Posted: 17/05/2017 in MMA, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20140220031640_5d3_0871

He may not have asked for the role, but Daniel Cormier has no qualms about playing the villain.

After seeing fight fans casually turn on him over the course of his bitter rivalry with Jon Jones, the UFC light heavyweight champ nearly went full heel after defending his title against Anthony Johnson at UFC 210, belittling a cageside Jones and basking in the boos his words evoked. Speaking recently to former WWE superstars Edge and Christian – no strangers to heel turns themselves – Cormier admitted he’s had to come out of his shell as a result of his unenviable place in the court of public opinion.

“Lately I’ve been having to do a little more talking because the fans have, they’ve kind of turned on me – which is okay,” Cormier said, according to MMA Fighting’s Jed Meshew. “I get it. It’s okay. But I kind of relate myself to Roman Reigns, John Cena, those types of guys. Guys that are supposed to be good guys but the fans just have something that they don’t like, something that doesn’t resonate with them. So I’ve kind of been having to talk a little bit more and it’s refreshing.”

While the masses have rallied behind the oft troubled Jones, the comparatively straight-laced Cormier continues to draw their ire, a disparity he attributed to Jones’ trials outside the Octagon.

“People don’t want to be told, ‘I’m good so you should cheer for me.’ Jon Jones is a guy that has made a lot of mistakes, so maybe people relate to him more. They go, ‘Forget this Daniel Cormier goody two-shoes, him and his kids and his family. I want the guy that does coke and parties and crashes cars. That’s the guy I want.’

“Maybe I’m not cool enough because I go to work, I fight, when I’m not fighting I go back and I go to my kids’ soccer and baseball games. That’s what I do. I go to wrestling. I’m not out partying. I’m not out doing all kinds of crazy stuff. Maybe I’m just too boring but I’m fine with it. I like my life.”

And yet, Cormier is still pining for a chance to right the only wrong on his professional record, a unanimous decision loss to Jones suffered at UFC 182. The long-awaited rematch is reportedly being targeted for UFC 214 this summer, and the champ won’t rest easy until he’s rid himself of the blemish.

“It sounds good. Jon and I have been scheduled to fight five times and we’ve fought once. I hope that everything gets done and we get to fight in Anaheim because he’s my white whale. He’s that guy I have to go chase down, I have to get it done. So me and my legacy, for my sanity, for me as a competitor, I have to stand across the octagon from Jon Jones again and win this time.”

Leave a Reply

