Jamaal Charles would have taken pay cut to stay with Chiefs

Posted: 16/05/2017 in NFL, Sports
Tags: , , , ,

espnapi_nfl_a_charlesj_576x324_wmain

Jamaal Charles recently signed with the Denver Broncos and has since devoted himself to his new team, but it didn’t have to be that way.

On Thursday, the owner of a new one-year contract said he was open to reworking his previous deal to remain in Kansas City with the Chiefs.

“I thought maybe they would give me a grace period. But I haven’t performed the last two years,” Charles said on the “Unmatched Sports with Cal Jones” podcast, according to Nicki Jhabvala of The Denver Post. “At the same time, I know it was about business. I think it would have been cool if they came and told me about a pay cut because I think I would’ve taken that pay cut, because I think I owed it to them for allowing me to be on the team.”

Instead, the Chiefs released Charles, who had one year remaining on his contract with a base salary of $3.75 million, but a cap hit of more than $6 million.

“I felt like when I got that call, it was just like, man, it was just OK, man. If it can happen to Peyton Manning it can happen to anybody,” he said.

After signing with the Chiefs’ AFC West rivals, Charles surprisingly stated he had always wanted to play for Denver. On the podcast, the running back let on that the Chiefs’ roster decision may have been more of a personal decision on both sides.

“I felt like it was more personal to the Chiefs than it was to me. Them letting me go, I love this community. I did a lot. I sweat, bleed, two ACLs, meniscus, I left that all out here in Kansas City. My heart will always be in Kansas City. It’s nothing personal,” he said.

Leave a Reply

