Jim Ross inks new 2-year deal with WWE

Posted: 03/04/2017 in Sports, WWE
Tags: , , , , ,

jim-ross

Jim Ross made his return to WWE on Sunday night to call the Roman Reigns vs. The Undertaker match at WrestleMania 33, which came a little over a week after his wife died in a tragic Vespa accident.

As it turns out, this wasn’t a one-off affair for the legendary commentator.

In an interview with FOX Sports’ Tyler Conway, Ross revealed that he recently signed a new two-year contract with WWE that will see him take on a variety of roles.

“They’ve got a lot of things that I can contribute (to), and I’ve been so blessed in the business that I’ve done so many different things,” Ross explained. “I’ve been an administrator and a syndicator, a marketing rep, a VP of broadcasting, a head of talent relations. But the fun part is what I did tonight.

“I hope to have more ‘fun part’ assignments in the future, but I’ve got my jersey back. So if the team needs me to play, to work more than they anticipated because they need it, I’m in.”

Ross also spoke about how important it was for him to participate in WrestleMania 33, calling the experience “cathartic.”

“I say this as a completely humble man. My audience has followed me since they were children,” he said. “If I heard it once this weekend, I’ve heard it dozens of times, that, ‘JR, you were the voice of my childhood, and I listened closer to you than I did my parents.’ So I knew that I was in a safe haven, and that’s the reason that I was here.”

Leave a Reply

